You and me, are we different?

I work with this card game diversophy®, created by someone with high experiences in intercultural management and diversity. I wish to major in progressing my study knowledge about this field. I have read a certain amount of articles and books about diversity (maybe just few comparing to many people). So, when I saw daily prompt for today was “diverse“, I thought, well, that would be something I needed to write about. But, the moment I sat down in front of my computer, I was stuck.  I was triggered of whether I had actually understood the word ever.

Let’s search on Google “diversity“, I said to myself. I did. Here were top ones I found on the first page:

  • DIVR (Diversity Recordings) is a Label Record dedicated in releasing & supporting artists from all over the world.
  • the quality or state of having many different forms, types, ideas, etc. : the state of having people who are different races or who have different cultures in a group …

  • https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diversity_(politics)

    In sociology and political studies, the term diversity (or diverse) is used to describe political entities (neighborhoods, student bodies, etc.) with members who …

  • gladstone.uoregon.edu/…/diversityinit/definition.html

    Definition of Diversity. The concept of diversity encompasses acceptance and respect. It means understanding that each individual is unique, and recognising …

I did not click onto any links there. Why? I think all first few words have already told us enough, or at least me (well, except the first one, I did not have any knowledge about such). They told me one core point: society includes people from different background, who have different opinions/lifestyles/personalities/characteristics/beliefs/and so forth but that makes each individual unique. 

I have come recently many articles about self-identity. Possibly, originality of this term is from Western culture, which is now developing strongly among young generation. We might get annoyed hearing we “are the same as the rest“. We want to hear we “are different in our way“. We wish to be seen among a big crowd. We are afraid of simply blending in. In fact, I come from a culture, in which “blending in” would not be considered as bad. Following a beaten path sometimes might be wise. Because if the rest of people are doing a thing, why not you?

Somewhere along my high school journey, I began to question: well, why should I?

Maybe that was the moment I packed my bag, heading towards a long continuous journey of finding myself, my so-called identity. Yes, I do not want to be seen “the same as the rest“. I do want to hear I “am different in my way“. I do wish to be seen among a big crowd. It is not because I strive for attention. But I strive for differences. Days after days, months after months,every single time I meet a new person, hear a new story, share a new piece of myself to them, gain a new piece of them to me—is every single reminder of how life is diverse. What’s the fun of growing up in a place where everyone acts the same? Real fun and satisfaction come from moments I find a similarity among sea of differences; “Oh, that person thinks the same as me! Amazing!“.

Days after, I might find out that same person has a whole different perspective on food selection (for example), or on sport hobbies, or many possible other things on the list. However, there is still that one similar common, connecting us and we are still able to keep our own differences. Sometimes, I do forget. Sometimes, I do jump to a conclusion anyone around me should act or think the same as me. It usually takes me hours or days for dragging myself back to the starting point, where I attempt to think: maybe they are different.

I also don’t like judgment. This is not to say I myself have never judged or kept bias before. Stating I don’t like judgement is actually a sentence I still teach myself living daily. I take some moments before or after I form any biases: if I have a right to tell them why their differences are bad? Being diverse is not bad, being different is a privilege; but how we act towards them can come in a bad form. I don’t think I need to tell you more what those bad forms can be, worldwide news might have been already both upset and sufficient enough to you.

Anyhow, in society also exists people like me—who are addicted in differences. As I say, life is diverse, all-good or all-bad world might remain too unrealistically simple to demand for. So, besides the news about terrorism/migration “crisis” (there should never be a phenomenon called migration crisis, but that is another topic) you might have heard, I will also tell you: even if I am no where near yet in re-finding my own identity, I would never change my embrace of diversity. And I think whatever makes you feel unique, you should not let such be buried, you should not let a burden of sameness onto yourself. Because at the end of the day, people being looked at from an angle far away, are all human with bodies and faces—and that is already enough of sameness in my opinion.
Diverse

One thought on “You and me, are we different?

Leave a Reply

